Editing database trials

Please post here only problems with Sticky Password database - unable to read, damaged database etc.

Editing database trials

Postby Dswpin » Sun Dec 01, 2013 6:12 am

I'm organizing my database. I can't paste an account from Web Accounts into App Accounts. I can copy the single account but how can it be pasted? Do I have to paste the info into a .doc and copy and paste that info individually into a new account in App Accounts?

Well there's a problem with that. The account is for a wireless router. It is accessed via an http: address in a browser. The SP 7 will not accept this address as a link. It says it's invalid when I try to save it after entering the login manually. If I drag the caption button to the opened page, it copies the link as the browser .exe. Now get this, I have this account and link already saved in Web Accounts (as an http...). But I can't recreate it in App Accounts, even if I enter just the 192.???.??? address. I don't want to delete the login but I'm guessing I'll have to and reopen it to save it in Web Accounts. It's a long way around to simply move an account to another part of the database.
Dswpin
New user
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Evzen » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:05 am

First of all, forget about trying to go the App Account way. App account is something completely different and you simply WON'T achieve what you need.
Also, that is exactly the reason why moving accounts between Web accounts and App accounts is not possible - you simply can't mix apples and oranges.

So you need to focus on the reason why Sticky thinks your link is invalid and fix THIS in the first place.
What EXACTLY is the link? I suppose it's something like http://192.168.1.1/, isn't it? This is the usual address os router's web interface.
In general, there is absolutely no problem creating web account with that address, I personally use it too... so I'm guessing that you might be simply typing something incorrectly and Sticky rejects it then.
Evzen
Experienced user
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Dswpin » Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:18 pm

I've copied the working http link (192.0., etc.), and pasted it in the link window. Copying and pasting avoids typing errors, as we all know. After entering the rest of what I want, the window appears saying the link is invalid when I try to save it to the database. Maybe SP is doing what I believe you are saying... preventing dual accounts in the database.

I'll just delete that login in the Web account and save it in the App account when SP prompts for it. I can't try that at this immediate time. Thank you for taking the time to respond. Best regards!
Dswpin
New user
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Evzen » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:37 pm

As I said, you CAN'T save a web account into app accounts... it's simply not possible.
Can you post the ENTIRE and unchanged link here?
Don't worry, it's a local IP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network) inaccessible from Internet, so you won't put your router in a risk...

Oh, and what EXACTLY is Sticky saying? Is it really something about invalid link, or rather something about already existing account? There are two completely different things...
Evzen
Experienced user
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby chaosxian » Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:54 am

Dswpin wrote:I'm organizing my database. I can't paste an account from Web Accounts into App Accounts. I can copy the single account but how can it be pasted? Do I have to paste the info into a .doc and copy and paste that info individually into a new account in App Accounts?

Well there's a problem with that. The account is for a wireless router. It is accessed via an http: address in a browser. The SP 7 will not accept this address as a link. It says it's invalid when I try to save it after entering the login manually. If I drag the caption button to the opened page, it copies the link as the browser .exe. Now get this, I have this account and link already saved in Web Accounts (as an http...). But I can't recreate it in App Accounts, even if I enter just the 192.???.??? address. I don't want to delete the login but I'm guessing I'll have to and reopen it to save it in Web Accounts. It's a long way around to simply move an account to another part of the database.
Why do you want to put your router login in "App Accounts"? That's for executable files, not links. The link for your router is in Web Accounts because it is a web link (htm, html, etc), not "exe". It can't be put in App Accounts.

Maybe this will help clarify the two... I have an Evernote (http://www.evernote.com) online account. I can access this account through the web, or using a desktop application. My web account login credentials are stored under "Web Accounts". The desktop app's login credentials are stored under "App Accounts".

Hope that helps clarify things.
chaosxian
Experienced user
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Dswpin » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:27 am

Here's why I wanted to put the router login into an App Account. It's because I was looking at it as an application; as a device. I now have realized that I can't because I've just tried to put it in the App account just now and before I read both of your latest replies.

The message was that it was an invalid link, nothing about a duplicate. I even deleted the entry from Web accounts and then tried to put it under App Accounts. That's where the invalid link message appears.

I guess this program is a little deeper than thought. My line of thought is that the Web account, App account, and the rest were basically default headings and therefore any entry I put in can go under any heading I want. Maybe it's in a help file somewhere about where entries can and can't be put. If so, I missed it.
Last edited by Dswpin on Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dswpin
New user
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Evzen » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:35 am

My little advice is - don't try to think too much about things and simply let Sticky do the work for you...
YOU don't PUT anything anywhere, it's Sticky who puts stuff where it belongs... and you then simply FIND the things where they should be.
Evzen
Experienced user
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:33 am

Re: Editing database trials

Postby Dswpin » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:43 am

Ok, fair enough. Sometimes, for me, I like to know the why's and wherefore's. Again, I was only organizing the database and this database was imported from SP 5. And that database wasn't organized into the categories.
Dswpin
New user
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:49 am


Return to Problems with database

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest