I've realized that ..\Sticky Passwords\default.spdb does not get changed (It has constant size and same timestamp) even if you make changes to the database (both add or remove). You need to exit SP7 and then it will get updated. This is very dangerous - in case of crash, all your changes could be lost.
...And more to the point backup does not work at all (there is always ONLY one file default.spdb).
Database is synchronized upon Unlock or manually from user interface. When you delete an account, it does not make the database smaller as we keep the details of deleted accounts for the records for synchronization. If you add an account it adds some bytes, not sure how many accounts have you added and how precisely you have monitored the size of the database.
What I have learned: As soon as I add an account in default.spdb (the portable db) the db is immediataly changed (new size, new time stamp). If I delete an account, the properties are unchanged. Is it not useful to have a maintenance option (compressing the db)?
The size of the db is increasing and increasing...and increasing.
I performed this manual maintenance as I did with ver 6:
¤ Export the entire database (encrypted spdb format), use your main password, uncheck 'Set password reset reminder for exported items'. ¤ Exit from SP ¤ Copy the exported db to the original's storage.
(I have SP 22.214.171.124 Desktop on my Win7 computer and run the portable version on a Win XP computer.)
Yes, the database is increasing only. We keep the accounts in the database for potential synchronization issues - accounts deleted on one device and not deleted on the other one. The only solution how to decrease the database size if you want to is maybe trying to delete these accounts in exported XML database, but this is not recommended.